The Answer

“You never seem satisfied
With the abundance
I have given you.
What more do you want?”
You seek an answer.

The red lipstick
That cost you a fortune
Feels heavy on my lips,
Blocking my words.
A thin strand of shiny metal
Studded with sparkling stones
Embellishes my neck.
Feels like a feather to you
But I know its weight.

You drape me in rich silk.
Beautiful yet heavy;
So heavy, that it nearly chokes me.
But I brave a smile and
Appreciate its finesse.
You put me in a mansion and
Fill it with the air
That you were made to breathe.
But you and I both know
That we breathe different air.
So I suffocate
And struggle to breathe
In my own nest.

You watch me like a hawk
As I try to answer.
Yes. What more could I possibly want?
The answer demands to be
Loud and clear
But it comes out as a pathetic whisper
That sounded something like:
“Freedom”.

4 thoughts on “The Answer

  1. Wow!!Superb!!truly emotional akshi..all of us feel this suffocation at times. As we hv been tied in the hands of prestige n status,rules nd regulation complete freedom is impossible
    Very matured thought dear!! We come to realise these feelings only now.you r really great!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

